Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

Minutes of the State Convention of Colored Citizens, Held at Albany, on the 18th, 19th, and 20th of August, 1840, for the purpose of considering their political condition.

1840 State Convention in Albany NY.compressed.9.pdf

« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]


6. All committees shall be nominated by the President, unless otherwise ordered by the Convention.

7. The previous question shall be always in order, and, until decided, shall preclude all amendment and debate of the main question, and shall be put in this form, “Shall the main question be now put?”

8. No member shall be interrupted while speaking, except when out of order— when he shall be called to order by or through the President.

9. A motion to adjourn shall be always in order, and shall be decided without debate.

10. No member shall speak more than twice on the same question without leave, or over fifteen minutes at each time.

11. No motion shall be reconsidered during the same session at which it is passed.

12. No resolution (except of reference) shall be offered to the Convention, except it come through the Business Committee.

13. The sessions of the Convention shall commence at 9 o’clock in the morning, and 2 in the afternoon.


ELI N. HALL, } Committee.

The Committee on the Roll reported the following list, as the names of those who came to participate in the doings of the Convention.

The roll here given, stands as the one subsequently completed and used by the Convention.


Rev. Theo. S. Wright,
Charles B. Ray,
Charles L.  Reason, 
Alexander Crummell,
Frederick Olney,
Henry Williams,
Patrick H. Reason, 
Wm. R. Thompson,
Jeffrey Van Clief,
J. H. Bishop,
John M. Dolan,
Wm. P. Johnson, 
Thomas Jefferson.
Tunis Blake,
James Parkman, 
Lloyd Tillman,
William Van Alstyne,
C. Osterhout,
Wm. H. Parker,
Solomon Groomer,
P. Green.
Rev. John T. Raymond,
Eli N. Hall,
Charles S. Morton,
William H. Topp,
David Thomas,
Michael Dougee,
Rev. John N. Mars,
Uriah Boston.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]