Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the State Colored Educational Convention Held at Frankfort, Kentucky, August 22, 1877

1877KY-State-Education-Frankfort_Proceedings (6).pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Jas. Allensworth, Hopkinsville, Kentucky.

S . P. Cheatem, Old Camp, Cumberland county, Kentucky.

P. Morgan, Hopkinsville, Kentucky.

Adam Withers, Danville, Kentucky.


Rev. Geo. W. Dupee, Paducah, Kentucky.

Rev. R. Martin, Frankfort, Kentucky.

Rev. C. Stumm, Portland, Kentucky.

Rev. Jas. Parris, Frankfort, Kentucky.

Rev. Wm. Gray, Lexington, Kentucky.

Mr. Peter Smith, Frankfort, Kentucky.


Mssrs. J. M. Maxwell, Jas. Turner, and J.R. Mason were appointed by the Chair as a Committee on Permanent Organization.

While the Committee were out preparing their report, the Convention was addressed by Mr. Wm. H. Gibson, sr., of Louisville, who made some very pointed and interesting remarks.

The Committee soon returned, bearing the following report as permanent officers for the ensuing year:

President—J. H. JACKSON, Lexington, Kentucky.

Vice President—J. M. MAXWELL, Louisville, Kentucky.

Secretary—C.C. VAUGHN, Russellville, Kentucky.

Treasurer—P. SMITH, Frankfort, Kentucky.

The report of the Committee was adopted, and immediately afterward, by request of the Convention, Dr. H. A. M. Henderson invoked the Divine blessing upon the assembly.

On motion, all teachers were order take seats within the bar.

The following gentlemen were appoint a Committee on Constitution and By-laws:

J.K. Mason, Chairman; A. Allensworth, W. H. Gibson, Jno. Rickets, Peter Smith, W. H. McRidley, and Rev. G. W. Dupee.

While the Committee were preparing a Constitution, Prof. J. M. Maxwell addressed the Convention very appropriately for the occasion, as follows:

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]