Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

State Colored Men's Convention


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]

The next speaker was Hon. James Lewis, who, after occupying the floor for a few minutes, moved that committees be appointed to carry out several points mentioned in Senator Pinchback's address.

Mr. W. H. Green followed, and after a short, but remarkably able speech, moved that, in addition to the above committees, a committee of five on statistics be appointed by the president. Adopted.

Mr. Burch moved that the address of Senator Pinchback be adopted as the expression of the sentiments and will of this convention.

Hon. James Lewis took the floor and urged the appointment of the committee proposed by him.

The question recurring upon Mr. Burch's motion, it was submitted to the convention and referred to the committee on resolutions.

Mr. Stamps moved that Senator Pinchback's address be referred to the committee on resolutions. Adopted.

Captain Canonge, of Orleans, offered a resolution inviting the Hon. J. R. West, United States Senator, and Hon. W. P. Kellogg, Governor of Louisiana, to address the convention to-day. Adopted.

Previous to adjournment the following committees were announced:

Committee on resolutions—A. Bertonneau, W. H. Green, H. Mahoney, T. A. Cage, W. G. Brown, T. B. Tramps, T. T. Allain, John Gair, J. Henri Burch, R. Blunt, William Harper, George Y. Kelso, William Murrell, T. W. Barrington, James Lewis.

Committee on nominations—Ed Butler, A. Bertonneau, W. G. Brown, C. F. Ladd, L. A. Fullen, John Gair, J. W. Armstead, Joseph Connaughton, G. B. Hamlet, J. E. Burton.

On motion the convention adjourned to meet again at 11 A. M. to-day.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]