Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

National Convention at New Orleans, LA


« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]

Mr. Myers, from the committee on credentials, reported eighteen additional members, making in all some sixty members present, considerably less than the required number for a quorum, according to the basis of representation laid down in the "call" for the present National Convention of Colored Men.

On motion of Mr. Burch, Mayor Flanders was escorted to a seat on the platform of the convention.

Mr. Cardoza, from the committee on permanent organization, reported as follows:

For President—Fred. Douglass, of New York.

Vice Presidents—James H. Ingraham, of Louisiana; George L. Ruffin, of Massachusetts; George T. Downing, of Rhode Island: T. Morris Chester, of Pennsylvania, J.C. Rivers, of Maryland; W. N. Stevens, of Virginia; J. M. Langston, of District of Columbia; F. L. Cardoza, of South Carolina; H. M. Turner, of Alabama; J. H. Pilles, of Mississippi; Richard Allen, of Texas; M. W. Gibbs, of Arkansas; Charles H. Langston, of Kansas; W. H. Jones, of Ohio, and Charles Stevenson, of Kentucky.

Secretaries—George T. Ruby, of Texas; R. B. Baquie and W. G. Brown, of Louisiana.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]