Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Southern States Convention of Colored Men, held in Columbia, S.C., commencing October 18, ending October 25, 1871.

1871SC-Regional-Columbia_Proceedings 16.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Committee on Address to the American People—R. B. Elliott, of South Carolina; J. M. Simms, of Georgia; Richard Nelson, of Texas; J. T. Walls, of Florida, Isaac Meyers, of Maryland, B. A. Bosemon, of South Carolina; F. C. Antoine, of LouIsiana.

Committee on Printing—J. H. Deveaux, of Georgia, R. H. Cain, of South Carolina; Isaac Meyers, of Maryland; H. E. Hayne, of South Carolina; H.M. Turner, of Georgia.

Committee on Finance—J. H. Rainey, W. J. Whipper, B. A. Bosemon, of South Carolina, C. L. Bradwell, of Georgia; H. E. Hayne, of South Carolina.

Committee on Emigration—R. H. Cain, of South Carolina, J. H. Johnson, of Arkansas; S. H. Scott, of Mississippi; L. W. West, of Georgia; F. C Antoine, of Louisiana, W. B. Nash, of South Carolina, W. H. Grey, of Arkansas, W. A. Golding, of Georgia.

Committee on Rules—P. B. S. Pinchback, of Louisiana; W. H. Grey, of Arkansas; J. F. Quarles, W. H. Noble, of Georgia.

Mr. ELLIOTT asked to be excused from serving on the Committee on Address to the American People, which was not agreed to.

Mr. MEYERS rose to a question of privilege, and denied certain reports that he had set in circulation rumors relative to the political opinions of certain members of the Convention.

On motion of Mr. PINCHBACK, Mr. Edwin Belcher, of Georgia, was added to the Committee on Civil Rights.

On motion on Mr. JOHNSON, of Arkansas, Mr. S. H. Scott was added to the Committee on Outrages.

On motion of Mr. PRICE, Mr. T. A. Sykes, of North Carolina, was added to the Committee on Outrages.

On motion of Mr. DEBRUHL, the Convention was adjourned.


COLUMBIA, S.C., October 19th, 1871.

The Convention assembled at 10 A. M., and was called to order by the President, Hon. A. J. RANSIER.

Prayer by the Rev. Mr. CAMPBELL, of Georgia.

The roll was called, and, a quorum being present, the Convention proceeded to business.

The Minutes of yesterday were read and approved.


You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]