Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Southern States Convention of Colored Men, held in Columbia, S.C., commencing October 18, ending October 25, 1871.

1871SC-Regional-Columbia_Proceedings 5.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page transcription has been submitted for review and is protected.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


The CHAIRMAN then announced the appointment of the following Committee on Credentials:

T. C. Antoine, of Louisiana; J. H. Rapier, of Alabama; J. H. Johnson, of Arkansas; J. M. Simms, of Georgia; Isaac Meyers, of Maryland; S. H. Scott, of Mississippi; H. E. Hayne, of South Carolina; John DeBruhl, of Texas; A. J. Flowers, of Tennessee.

On motion of Mr. PINCHBACK, of Louisiana, the Convention, at 1:15 P. M., took a recess until 4 P. M.


The Convention re-assembled, and was called to order at 4 P.M.

Hon. J. T. WALLS resumed the chair.

Mr. F. C. ANTOINE, from the Committee on Credentials, made the following


The Committee on Credentials beg leave to submit the following report:

That they have examined the credentials of the gentlemen from the various States embraced in the call for this Convention, and report the following as members, viz:

State of Alabama—James T. Rapier, James A. Foster, Holland Thompson.

State of Arkansas—J. H. Johnson.

District of Columbia— ―

State of Florida—J. H. Walls.

State of Georgia—J. H. Deveaux, Edwin Belcher, J. M Simms, H. M. Turner, C.L. Bradwell, J. C. Beall, W. H. Noble, T. G. Campbell, John McCluskey, L. W. West, J. F. Quarles, W. H. Harrison, W. A. Golden, A. Gornickey.

State of Louisiana—P. B. S. Pinchback, Geo. E. Paris, W. G. Johnson, Edgar Davis, E. Butler, Benjamin Geddis, F. C. Antoine, J. H. Burch.

State of Maryland—Isaac Meyers.

State of Mississippi—S. H. Scott.

State of South Carolina—R. H. Cain, A. J. Ransier, R. B. Elliott, Wilson Cooke, W. J. Whipper, B. A. Bosemon, J. H. Rainey, H. E. Hayne, W. B. Nash, S. J. Lee, John White, Frank Williamson.

State of Tennessee—A. J. Flowers.

State of Texas—James Green, J. H. Townsend, J. DeBruhl, David G. Scott, Richard Allen, Richard Nelson.

State of North Carolina—T. A. Sykes.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]