Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Convention of the Equal Rights and Educational Association of Georgia : assembled at Macon, October 29th, 1866 : containing the annual address of the president, Captain J.E. Bryant

1866 Macon GA State Convention.4.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


MACON, GA., October 30th, 1866.

The Georgia Equal Rights Association met in Convention at the African Methodist Episcopal church. The Convention was called to order by the President, Captain J. E. Bryant, at ten o'clock A. M. The proceedings were opened with a very impressive prayer by Rev. Wilkes Flagg, of Baldwin county. The President, after giving a brief history of the Association, appointed the following gentlemen a Committee on Credentals : Rev. Wm. J. White of Richmond, Lawrence Gardiner of Hancock, Wm. H. Harris of Warren, S. McAlister of Morgan, and Lewis Smith of Bibb. The committee reported the following delegates duly elected to this Convention :

Bibb county.

Rev Milton Tillinghast,

Rev Lewis Smith, A G Gaston, W D Sneed.

Baldwin county.

Rev Wilkes Flagg,

Berry Hall.

Burke county.

Rev Edward Crumby,

Peter Drayton,

John P Nelson.

Butts county.

Anderson Freeman,

G Wise.

Calhoun county.

Henry Thompson,

C Thomas.

Clarke county.

James Bacon.

Clayton county.

Sam'l Chubbs.

Cobb county.

W Cokine.

Coweta county.

Samuel Smith,

Benj Dent.

Dougherty county.

Benj Sykes,

S Sherman.

Fulton county.

Rev A Jackson,

Wm R Mann.

Green county.

Wesley Mapp,

Chas Martin.

Glascock county.

Singleton Davis,

John Ruff.

Hancock county.

L F Gardner,

L H Holsey,

A Yancy.

Houston county.

Isaac Harrall,

A Rolly,

S A Cobb.

Henry county.

H Griffin,

H Humphrey.

Jasper county.

Rev T M Allen,

J Cargill.

Jefferson county.

Rev R Smith,

A Spann,

G W Stone.

Johnson county.

Rev S Harris,

W Outley.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]