Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the first convention of colored men of Kentucky held in Lexington, March the 22d, 23d, 24th and 26th, 1866. With the constitution of the Kentucky State Benevolent Association. Printed by order of the convention.

1866 Kentucky State Convention in Lexington.34.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


September at 10 o'clock A. M.: for the election of officers and the transacting of such other business as may be brought before it.

ART. 13. At any annual meeting of the State Benevolent Association, this Constitution may be altered or amended by a vote of the majority of the members present.


Geo. W. Dupee, Lee Masterson,

Henry Scroggins, Horace Morris,

Wm. Lawrence, Elijah Hathaway,

Reuben Lee, Danl. Jackson,

Benj. Tibbs, Henry Dunston,

Simon Griggsby, Lewis Jackson,

Geo. Perry, Henry King,

George Griggsby, B. S. Newton,

Austin Hubbard, J. Madison Harris,

M. C. Johnson, Nelson Callahan,

S. Straws, Erasmus Wells,

Leroy Branham, Horace Fletcher,

E. B. Cheatham, Jas. H. Campbell,

John H. Graves, C. Malone,

W. H. Miles, Wm. Stuband,

Thos. Monroe, Alfred Barnes,

Geo. W. Smith, Alex. Botts,

J. Claiborne, Jno. Warfield,

Thos. De S. Tucker, Adam Smoot,

Malcolm Ayres, L. J. Dixon,

Alex. Campbell, J. T. Harris,

Logan Dupee, H. Porter,

Bedford Nelson, Lewis Tandy,

Lewis Claiborne.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]