Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the first convention of colored men of Kentucky held in Lexington, March the 22d, 23d, 24th and 26th, 1866. With the constitution of the Kentucky State Benevolent Association. Printed by order of the convention.

1866 Kentucky State Convention in Lexington.7.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


a half, when the meeting was dismissed and everybody went home satisfied with the night's proceedings.

Second Day's Session.

Morning—Friday, March 23d, 1866.

President King in the chair; Session opened with prayer by Rev. J. Claiborne. Roll called: Minutes read and approved; A motion to tax members absent at Roll Call fifty cents was after considerable discussion lost.

Mr. E. Wells of Fayette as appointed Sergeant-at-Arms vice Mr. Stuband, relieved.

A motion to fine members absent at Roll Call without a justifiable excuse, twenty-five cents, prevailed.

Messrs. J. M. Langston of Ohio, C. A. Yancey of Ohio, Robt. James of Frankfort, David Collins of Ohio and Thos. De S. Tucker were elected Honorary Members.

A motion to appoint a "Committee on Finance" prevailed. J. Madison Harris of Mercer; Wm. Stuband of Bourbon; Dennis Doram of Boyle; Saml. Griggsby of Henry and Thos. R. Jackson of Fayette composing said Committee.

On motion it was resolved that a Committee on "Address to the People of the State of Kentucky" be appointed.

After some discussion all of the Committees, save the one on "Finance' and the one on "Credentials" were merged into one to be called the "Business Committee," with power to elect their own Chairman.

The Lexington Local Reporter for the Cincinnati Papers was admitted to a seat in the Convention.

On motion, the Committees were authorized to obtain assistance from any just source.

A motion prevailed that Mr. Henry Johnson of Harrison County be an Honorary Member: Sergeant Thomas, U. S. A., and Edward Jackson of Ohio had the like courtesy granted to them.

During the absence of the "Business Committee" Mr.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]