Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Minutes of the Freedmen's Convention, Held in the City of Raleigh, on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th of October, 1866


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


port was called for and carried. The members of the Convention then pledge themselves to raise the sum of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for the above mentioned purpose.

Rev. G. A. Rue, chairman of the Business Committee, based leave to report a resolution;

Resolved, That this Convention after this evening session shall adjourn sine die.

On motion, said resolution was adopted.

On motion, a nominating committee was appointed to nominate officers of the State Equal Rights League, to serve the ensuing year consisting of Messrs. J.R. Caswell, J.R. Good, James Bowman, W.D. Newsom and Stewart Ellison. After an absence of about twenty minutes, the nominating committee returned and made the following report, which on motion, was received and adopted:

J.H. Harris of Wake, President; J.R. Good of Craven, J.R. Caswell of Wake and Stewart Ellison of Wake, Vice Presidents; W.H. Anderson of Wake, Recording Secretary; J. Randolph, Jr., of Crave, Corresponding Secretary; Jas. Bowman of Cumberland, Treasurer.

The Executive board consisted of Jas. T. Schenck of Mecklenburg, J.S. Porter of Davidson, V. Mikeral of Rutherford, Wyatt Outlaw of Alamance, and J.A. Green of Gates.

On motion, a Committee on printing was appointed to ascertain the expenses of printing the proceedings of the press, consisting of James E. O'Hara, James H. Harris and J.R. Caswell.

On motion, the Convention adjourned to meet at 71/2 o'clock, P.M.

James H. Harris of Wake was then introduced to the Convention, who made an eloquent and patriotic address, pleasing to both race.

Rev. G.A. Rue was next introduced to the audience, who made one of those soul-stirring speeches for which he is so famous.

Rev. James Bowman was next introduced to the audience, who also made an eloquent address filled with good advice to the people both white and colored.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]