Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Minutes of the Freedmen's Convention, Held in the City of Raleigh, on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th of October, 1866


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


be seven instead of five. Amendment received and motion carried.

The following gentlemen were, therefore, appointed on a business Committee: Dr. H. J. Brown, H. Locket, J. T. Schenck, John Smith, Jno. Sykes, Vinson Mickeral and Geo. A. Rue.

On motion a Committee on invitation were appointed, consisting of J. R. Caswell, J. E. O'Hara, Harry Pope, John Hyman and John Porter, with the instruction that they invite Gov. Worth and other distinguished citizens of North-Carolina, and the heads of the Military department.

On motion a financial Committee was appointed, consisting of H. Unthank, J. B. Ballard, S. Ellison, and Jas. Bowman.

On motion Mr. Newsom, of Hertford, was appointed to take the names and post-office addresses of the delegates.

On motion Wm. Cawthorn was confirmed as Secretary of the Convention.

The business Committee then reported through their Chairman, Dr. H. J. Brown.

The resolutions were received but not adopted, and laid over to the next session.

On motion Jas. H. Harris was solicited to address the Convention.

On motion a collection was taken up to defray the expense of the Convention, amounting to $4.50.

Convention assembled at 7 1/2 o'clock, when the meeting was opened with religious exercises by Rev. George A. Rue, Chaplain of the Convention.

The President, Jas. H. Harris, was then introduced by J. R. Good, Vice President.

Mr. Harris' discourse was lengthy and instructive, and founded principally on the objects of the Leauge. He was often applauded.

Mr. Leary, of Fayetteville, was next introduced, but declined on the grounds of incapability.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]