Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the National Convention of the Colored Men of America: held in Washington, D.C., on January 13, 14, 15, and 16, 1869.

1869 National Convention in Washington DC 15.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



Convention met pursuant to adjournment. Bishop S. T. Jones, addressed the throne of Grace.

The minutes were read and approved. Mr. Downing, of Rhode Island, stated that Mr. T. W. Gaskin, had been duly elected a Delegate on behalf of Rhode Island, but by some means, had not been able to procure his credentials; in view of the fact that it was well known that Mr. Gaskin had been elected a Delegate, he moved that the House admit him and record his name on the roll.

Some debate ensued, Mr. Weir and Mr. Green of Pennsylvania, advocating the motion, and Mr. Brown, of Pennsylvania, and others, opposing it.

The motion finally prevailed and Mr. Gaskin was enrolled a member.

A telegram was received from Alabama, addressed to the Convention, as follows:

MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA, January 13, 1869.

To the President, Colored National Convention:

Following Alabama Delegates will arrive on the 15th: John Galloway, Wilber G. Strong, L. S. Berry.


Mr. Downing, of Rhode Island, moved that any gentleman from a State not represented, desiring so to do, be permitted to enroll his name and to represent his State in this Convention.

Mr. Mabson, of North Carolina, opposed the motion. Mr. Douglass of New York, favored the motion; Mr. Cook, of Virginia, also favored the motion.

After considerable opposition, the motion under the operation of the previous question, was adopted.

The Committee on Credentials reported as Delegates just arrived: John C. Bowers, Pennsylvania, Samuel F Kelsoe, and John Everett, of Virginia, and W. T. Jones, of Delaware, who were ordered enrolled as members of the Convention.

Mr. J. J. Spellman, of New York, announced that Governor Eggleston, of Mississippi, was in the house.. The President invited the Governor forward, but the Governor made an apology for his inability to make a speech on this occasion.

Mr. Garnett, of Pennsylvania, moved that Col. R. T. Hinton, and Mr. A. M. Powell, of the Anti-Slavery Standard, be invited to seats within the bar of the Convention. Mr. Brown, of Pennsylvania, moved to amend by inserting also the names of Carter A. Stewart, Esq., and H. M. Johnson, of the District of Columbia; and D. B. Bowser, of Pennsylvania, and Governor Eggleston of Mississippi, be elected honorary members of the Convention. Adopted.

Hon. John R. French, of North Carolina, was also elected an honorary member.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]