Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

Proceedings of the National Conference of Colored Men of the United States, Held in the State Capitol at Nashville Tennessee, May 6, 7, 8 and 9, 1879.


« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]



J. H. Delamotta, Atlanta; Rev. Toby Stewart, Clinton; Rev. George Valentine. Atlanta; J. W. Brooks, Macon; Moses H. Bentley, Atlanta; W. A. Pledger, Athens R. R. Wright, Cutnbert.

ILLNOIS:—J. J. Bird. Cairo; F. L. Barnett, Chicago.

INDIANA.- R. Nicholas; Evansville; J. W. James, 184 Locust street, Evansville; F. D. Morton, 701 Chestnut street, Evansville; Rev. W. H. Anderson, pastor Third Baptist church, Terre Haute; Rev. Greene McFarland, Evansville; S. Daniels, Terre Haute; Rev. P. W. Johnson, Indianapolis; J. A. Braboy, Kokomo; G. L. Knox , Westfield; J. H. Clay, Greencastle; J. H. Walker, Terre Haute; Emmet Stewart, Brazil; J. W. Stewart.

KANSAS.—Rev. T. W. Henderson, Topeka.

KENTUCKY.—Allan Allensworth , W. H. Nicholl, Horace Lewis, Bowling Green; G.W.Gentry; G. W. Darden; Rev. Bishop Miles, Louisville; John Garnett, Glasgow; J. F. C. Snarden.

LOUISIANA.—P. B. S. Pinchback, James Lewis, Naval Office, J. Henri Burch, Lewis T. Kenner, James D. Kennedy, Chas. A. Burgeois, New Orleans.

MINNESOTA.—S. E. Hardy, St. Paul.

MISSISSIPPI.—J. R. Lynch, R. W. Fitzhugh, Theo. H. Greene, Natchez ; Thomas Richardson, Port Gibson ; Rev. J. H. Buftord, Stormsville ; David Wilson ; W. H. Maury ; B. G. Booth. Water Valley ; S. P. Cheers, Water Valley ; J.C. Mathews, Holly Springs.

MISSOURI.—Wm. R. Lawton, St. Louis ; J. W. Wilson.

NEBRASKA.—H. G. Newsom, Hastings.

OHIO.—Robert Harlan, Cincinnati.

OREGON.—Rev. D. Jones, Lexington, Ky.

PENNSYLVANIA.—J. D. Lewis, Wm. Still, Philadelphia ; F. J. Loudin, Ravenna, Ohio ; Dr. C. V. Wiley, Philadelphia.

SOUTH CAROLINA.—Hon. J. H. Rainey, Windsor.

TENNESSEE.—S. F. Griffin, Clarkesville ; Rev. D. E. Asbury, Paris; J. B. Bosley, Wm. Sumner, T. A. Sykes, Nashville ; Rev. Isaac Lane ; Rev. R. F. Boyd, Pulaski ; J. H. Hendricks, Goodlettsville ; Rev. G. H. Shafer , J. W. Grant, Nashville ; T. W. Lott, Jackson ; D. W. Williams. Brentwood ; L. A. Roberts, Grand Junction ; J. H. Kelley, Columbia ; Dr. J. F. McKinley, Nashville ; W. C. Hodge, Chattanooga ; H. H.Thompson, Pulaski ; Randall Brown, Nashville ; J. M. Smith, LaGrange, Fayette county ; A. J. Carr ; B. A. J. Nixon, Pulaski ; M. F. Womack ; A. F. A . Polk; A. N. C. Williams; W. A. Henderson, Jr., Chattanooga; B. J. Hadley, J. H. Burrus. Rev. D. Wadkins, W. F. Yardley. Rev. G. W. LeVere, J. C. Napier, Rev. C. O. H. Thomas, W. F. Anderson, Nashville.

TEXAS.—Richard Allen, Houston ; Rev. B. F. Williams, East Bernard Station ; J. R. Taylor, San Antonio ; N. W. Cuney, Galveston ; E. H. Anderson, Fisk University, Nashville, Tenn.

VIRGINIA.—R. A. Perkins, Lynchburg ; J. W. Cromwell, Washington,D.C.; John W. Averitt. Lynchburg.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA.- J. H. S. Parker, Post Office Department, Washington.

The question having been raised as to the status of the officers of the Conference, several delegates said that permanent officers had been elected during a temporary organization.

J. Henri Burch wished it understood that the Conference was fully organized and ready for business.

G. W. Gentry moved that a permanent organization be effected, and that J. H. Rainey, of South Carolina, be permanent chairman.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]