Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

Proceedings of the Colored National Convention, held in Franklin Hall, Sixth Street, Below Arch, Philadelphia, October 16th, 17th and 18th, 1855.

1855PA 7.pdf

« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]


A motion was then made to adjourn until two o'clock; but after some discussion it was withdrawn.

A motion prevailed that a Committee of one from each State be appointed to nominate permanent officers for the Convention. The Committee consisted of Rev. L. A. Grimes, of Mass.; Abram J. Morrison, of Conn.; Stephen Myers, of N. Y. ; and John C. Bowers, of Pa.

During the absence of the nominating Committee, the following Committee was appointed on rules: J. C. White, J. S. Rock, .J. C. Morrell, G. D. Washington and J- McCrummell.

The Committee on nominations for permanent officers then made the following report:

For President—REV. AMOS G. BEMAN, of Connecticut.

Vice Presidents—JACOB C. WHITE and JOHN F. WILLIAMS, Pa.; Rev. L. A. GRIMES and WM. C. NELL, Mass.; J. W. DUFFIN and P. A. BELL, N. Y., and Rev. J. C. BEMAN of Connecticut.

Secretaries—Dr. J. S. ROCK, of Massachusetts; GEO. W. LEVERE, N. Y.; FRANCIS A. DUTERTE and ROBT. DOUGLASS, Pennsylvania.

The report was adopted.

A committee of two, consisting of Drs. J. J. G. Bias of Pennsylvania, and J. McCune Smith, N. Y., was appointed to conduct the President elect to the Chair.

On taking the Chair, the President returned his thanks for the honor conferred on him; and promised to discharge his duties in an impartial manner, and requested the aid of the members in carrying out the objects of the Convention, &c.

Mr. J. C. White was excused from acting as one of the Vice Presidents, and Dr. J. J. Gould Bias appointed to fill the vacancy.

The following committees were then appointed: Business Committee-Professor C. L. Reason, of Pennsylvania; Dr. McCune Smith, N. Y.; C. H. Bustill, Pa.; Wm. H. Topp, N. Y.; Geo. H. Washington, Conn.; J. C. Morrell, N. Y., and Franklin Turner of Pennsylvania.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]