Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the National Convention of Colored People and Their Friends; held in Troy, NY; on the 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th of October, 1847

1847NY 11.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



New York.—L. Harper, T. H. Henderson, George Haggimore, John Lyles. R H Johnson, L Jackson, C Van Hoosen,—7

Massachusetts—Wm H Brown, Henry Watson, PI Schuyler—3.

Michigan—Lewis Hayden—1.

Kentucky—Andrew Jackson—Total 12.


New York—Henry H Garnet, H Morton, Geo W Gorden, J H Davis, S Van Wranken, Peyton Harris, W A Hodges, Thos Van Rensselaer, Alex Crummell, E Moore, M A Jackson, Wm Meads, G B Wilson, R D Kenney, S Myers, B Cutter, J B Webb, John Spence—18.

Massachusetts—F Douglass, W C Nell, Nathan Johnson, Benj Wheeden, Chas C Seth, Saml Smith, Thos Thomas, Martin Thomas—8.

Connecticut—J W C Pennington, Amos G Beman—2.

New Jersey—S B Hyers—1. Total 29.

F. Douglass moved Cleveland as an amendment, and also called the previous question, which was decided by Yeas 18, Nays 19.


New York—Geo Haggimore, S Van Wranken, John Lyles, Peyton Harris, W N Hodges, Thos Van Rensselaer, M A Jackson, Lewis Jackson, Wm

Meads, R D Kenney, B Cutter, J Spence — 12.

Massachusetts — Frederick Douglass, Wm W Brown, Henry Watson, Thos Thomas, Martin Thomas — 5. Connecticut—A G Beman.

Michigan—Lewis Hayden. Total 19.


New York—H H Garnet, H Morton, Geo W Gordon, W S Baltimore, J H Henderson, Chas B Ray, Alex Crummell, R H Johnson, E Moore, Geo B

Wilson, S Myers, J B Webb, C Van Hoosen—13.

Massachusetts—Nathan Johnson, Benj Wheeden, Wm C Nell, Leonard Collins, Saml Smith, P I Schuyler—6.

New Jersey—S B Hyers. Total 20.

The original motion on Newark, N. J., was then put and resulted thus: Ayes 25, Nays 14, and was decided to be the place for the next Convention


New York—H H Garnet, H Morton, L Harper, G W Gordon, W S Baltimore, J H Henderson, S Van Wranken, W A Hodges, Chas B Ray, Alexander Crummell, Wm Meads, Geo B Wilson, Stephen Myers, B Cutter, J B Webb, Spence, E Moore—17.

Massachusetts—N Johnson, W C Nell, B Wheeden, Chas C Seth, SamueI Smith, P I Schuyler, Thos Thomas—7.

Connecticut—J W C Pennington. Total 25.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]