Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

State Convention of the Colored People of Louisiana, January 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, and 14th, 1865


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



of the rules. Objection is made to this decision of the chair. The chair is sustained by 38 against 27.

Mr. A. E. Barber moves that the petition be sent only after the readmission of the State into the Union. The rules are suspended by a two-thirds vote. The main question is lose. (32 ayes, 37 nays). Another motion for a stellar object was similarly rejected later in the day, after some energetic remarks of Mr. H. Chevarre. Consequently, no memorial shall be sent to the Legislature now in session. The Convention remains consistent with its decision of yesterday.

The following propositions are adopted, with little debate:

A committee of five is appointed to visit the Orphan Asylum, Toulouse street, and the Third District School.--Messrs. C. E. Logan, J. A. Craig, Thos. Isabelle, J. A. Norager, H. Chevarre.

A committee of three (to be appointed by the chair) will have charge of revising the minutes and documents for publication.

All the committees are granted ten days to finish their respective business, under control of the Executive Board.

The minutes, rules, list of members, and other documents of the Convention are ordered to be printed (1000 copies,) in English and French.

Capt. J. B. Noble is called to the chair.

A vote of thanks to the Tribune for its support of the Convention, is unanimously carried. The Tribune is declared the official organ of the National Equal Rights League of Louisiana. The resolutions are given below.

A vote of thanks to Rev. Mr. Maistre for his concourse at the funeral of late Caillou. Unanimously carried.

A committee of three (Messrs. J. F. Winston, J. Minor, O. S. Dunn) will wait ont eh Commanding General, to ask redress for the neglect and contempt shown the wives of colored soldiers at the Free Market. They will ask that the mother be substituted to the wife, in case the soldier is not a married man.

A committee of three (Messrs. J. A. Craig, J. A. Norager, J. B. Noble) is appointed to wait on Commanding General, and ask from him, for the colored persons, the same liberty of travelling, going and comming, that other persons enjoy. Mesrs. Chaplin Conway and Major Plumley spoke a few words on this question. Maj. Plumley stated that the requirement of a pass, emanating from the employer, had only been taken as a temporary measure. He thought that if Maj. Gen. Banks had remained a little longer in this Department, it would have been done away with the system, before this time. It will likely be abolished, as soon as the attention of the commanding General be directed to it. (Applause.)

The 9th of January is appointed as a day of commemoration, to be kept by the Leagues, all over the State, as the anniversary of the meeting of this Convention.

The proposition of opening correspondence with the Freedmen Bureau at Washington (when established), is referred to the Executive committee.

A resolution is adopted, declaring that we place our confidence in the majority of the American people, who have reelected President Lincoln.

At half-past five o'clock the Convention proceeds to elect the balance of the Executive Committee.

The members elected are the following:

Messrs. Hippolyte Vagner, Charles Martines, A. L. Young, Joseph Curiel, Dr. A. W. Lewis, Rev. W. A. Dove, Eugene Chesse, J. Vincent, H.F. O'Conner, J. B. Noble, H. Grimes, G. W. Samuels, J. A. Norager, Mitchel Sturges, J. L. Monthieu, Thomas Isabelle, H. White, L. Boguille.

To complete the Bureau of Industry:

Capt. W. B. Barret, 2nd. assistant, Moses B. Avery, 3d. assistant.

After giving the Executive Committee power to transact all unfinished business, the Convention, at seven o'clock, adjournes sine die.

The following are the resolutions which endorse the course of the "Tribune" in regard of the Convention. By the unanimous action of that honorable body, our paper has been made the official organ of the Leagues. We are proud of the part we have taken in this great and important move, and the honor that the Convention has conferred upon us. We return our most sincere thanks to our friends and can assure them that, in this fight for

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]