Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

State Convention of the Colored People of Louisiana, January 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, and 14th, 1865


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



It is explained that the committee will only have to report questions referred to them by the Convention. Messrs. Young and Francis say that a standing bureau is contemplated, to take in hand all the grievances coming under their notice. The organization of this Bureau will be attended to at the proper time.

Mr. M. B. Avery reads the regulations reported by the committee on Rules.They are similar to the regulations adopted in most of deliberative bodies. It is proposed not to allow any member to speak more than twice on subject; and no longer than 15 minutes each time. The proceedings will be conducted in the following order: 1. prayer; 2. roll call; 3. proceedings of the various meetings for adoption; 4. notices for motions and resolutions; 5. unfinished business; 6. reports of the committees.; 7. order of the day; 8. benediction; 9. adjournment. The report of the committee will be will be considered to-morrow at 11 o'clock.

On a motion of Dr. Cromwell, which was amended by Mr. Young, the members will have to take an oath, whose purport and tenor will be determined to-morrow.

Mr. Martinez moves that a majority of the members be a quorum. Carried. At half past four o'clock the Convention adjourns.


Capt. James H. Ingraham, President.

A. E. Barber, Vice President, du ler dist.

L. Boguille, " " du 2me "

J. Curiel, " " du 3me "

Capt. J. B. Noble, " " de 4me "

M. Johnson, " " Paroisse Jeff.

G. Hunter, " " Terrebonne.

M. B. Avery,

Capt. E. Morphy, Secretaries.

Capt. C. C. Antoine,

J. E. Murray,

R. G. Baylor, Sergent d'Armes.

Rev. James Allen, Henri Chevarre,

Charles Aubert, Eugene Chesse,

Madison Allin, B.B. Colburn,

Capt. A. Bertonneau, Philip Crawford,

Fr. Boisdore, David Copland,

G. P. Barrat, Rev. W. A. Dove,

L. Banks, Alex J. Davis,

Capt. W. B. Barret, Samuel Delane,

Henry Berryman, Abraham Douglas,

Dr. R. I. Cromwell, Frank Davis

J. A. Craig, Henry Davis,

E. Cordeviolle, Alex Dumas,

Henry Edmonds, Louis Edmonds,

James Edwards, H. Francis,

Louis Ferry, Benj. Geddis,

J. J. Gage, de Morganza, C.C. Gellorgan,

J. R. Grove, August Gaspard,

S. Hays, de B. Rouge, Rev. C. H. Hughes,

Capt. R. H. Isabelle, Thomas Isabelle,

John Landers, Dr. A. W. Lewis, Tr.,

Chs. E. Logan, Jules Lepirer,

James Minor, Rev. John Murrell,

Joseph L. Monthieu, S. S. Minor,

John A. Murray, Ch. Martinez,

Rev. A. McCarey, Alex Motts,

George P. Nelson, J. A. Norager,

J. Pullam, Junior, J. Pullman, Senior,

Richard Pickett, Thomas W. Poree,

Dr. R. Smith, Thomas P. Robinson

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]