Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the First Convention of the Colored Citizens of the State of Illinois, Convened at the City of Chicago, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, October 6th, 7th and 8th, 1853.


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]

Afternoon Session.

Met at 2 o'clock. President in the chair. Prayer by Rev. R. J. Robinson.

The following rules for the government of the Convention were by the chairman of the Business Committee, and adopted:


I. That each session of the Convention be opened with prayer.

II. Upon the appearance of a quorum, the President shall take chair, and call the Convention to order.

III. The minutes of the preceding session shall be read at the opening of each session, at which time mistakes, if there be any, shall be corrected.

IV. The President shall decide all questions of order, subject to an appeal to the Convention.

V. All motions and addresses shall be made to the President, the member rising from his seat.

VI. All motions, except those of reference, shall be submitted in writing.

VII. All committees shall be appointed by the chair, unless otherwise ordered by the Convention.

VIII. The previous question shall always be in order, and until decided, shall preclude all amendments and debate of the main question, and shall be put in this form: "Shall the main question be now put?"

IX. No member shall be interrupted while speaking, except when out of order, when he shall be called to order by, or through the chair.

X. A motion to adjourn shall always be in order, and shall be decided without debate.

XI. No member shall speak more than twice on the same subject, without the consent of the Convention, nor more than ten minutes at each time.

XII. No resolution, except of reference, shall be offered, to the Convention, except it come through the Business Committee; but all resolutions rejected by the committee may be presented directly to the Convention, if the maker wishes to do so.

XIII. The morning sessions of the Convention shall commence at 9 o'clock.

On motion of Byrd Parker, a committee of five on Finance was appointed consisting of Lewis Isbell, W. T. Watson, Alex. Smith, E. A. Fulton and E. Morris.

On motion of H. O. Wagoner, a committee of five was appointed to report an Address to the people of the State of Illinois. The chair then appointed H. O. Wagoner, William Smith, William Robinson, Thomas Mason and H. Brown said committee.

On motion of A. W. Jackson, a committee of three was appointed by the chair to report an Address to the Colored People of the State, consisting of A. W. Jackson, of Morgan, S. Donagan, of Sangamon, and H. Ellsworth, of Madison.

On motion of R. J. Robinson, a committee of five was appointed by the chair to report upon Education, consisting of R. J. Robinson, J. H. Barguet, R. H. Cain, C. W. Campbell and H. Brown.

On motion of William Johnson, a committee of five was appointed by chair to report upon Agriculture. William Johnson, W. H. Butler, H. Ellsworth, Job Vincent and William Smith were appointed said committee.

On motion of J. H. Barguet, a committee of five was appointed by the chair to report upon Mechanics. A. H. Richardson, W. T. Watson, A. T. Burgundy Smith and J. H. Barguet were appointed said committee.

On motion of Byrd Parker, a committee of five, to report on Colonization, consisting of John Jones, H. Bradford, R. H. Rollins, A Dobbins and William Smallwood, was appointed.

The chairman of the Business Committee then reported a preamble and resolutions. They were taken up by sections. The first section was up and adopted. The second was taken up and ably discussed by J. D. Bonner, R. J. Robinson and J. H. Barguet in the affirmative and Byrd Parker in the

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]