Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Minutes of the State Convention of the Colored Citizens of Ohio, Convened at Columbus, January 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th, 1850.


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]

First Session, Wednesday Morning.

Pursuant to a call of the STATE CENTRAL COMMITTEE, for holding a Delegate State Convention, the delegates to said Convention met in the Bethel Church, in the City of Columbus, on Wednesday, January 9th, at 10 o'clock, A.M.

The Convention was called to order by D. Jenkins, of Franklin County, and organized by appointing L. D. Taylor, of Franklin, President pro tem., and C. A. Yancy, Secretary.

Prayer having been offered by the Rev. Mr. N. Nooks, the Convention proceeded to enrolled the names of the Delegates.

W. H. Day, of Lorain, introduced the following resolution:

Resolved, That persons present from their respective counties, who have credentials, and those who have been regularly elected, constitute this Convention.

Which resolution, after some discussion, was amended at the suggestion of D.Jenkins, as follows:

Resolved, That all persons present from counties not duly represented, and those who have been duly elected, constitute this Convention.

The following gentlemen were present to represent their respective counties:

Fairfield County--A. Strauder.

Lorain County--John Watson, W. H. Day, Thomas Brown, and C. Ross.

Morgan County--G. Hilton.

Champaign County--H. Ford, J. D. Pattison, L. Adams.

Madison County--J. Purnell.

Cuyahoga County--J. L. Watson, J. Mercer Langston, H. F. Douglass, Jas. Monroe Jones.

Jackson County--N. Nooks, A. Yancy, J. W. Stuart.

Gallia County--W. Stuart, J. Gee.

Logan County--K. Artis.

Pickaway County--D. S. Moss, G. Adams.

Warren County--F. Wilson.

Geauga County--H. Lott, Sr., H. Lott, Jr.

Erie County--J. J. Pearce.

Mercer County--S. Jones.

Clark County--N. Morgan, A. Dempsey, W. P. Morgan.

Greene County--J. W. Divine, J. H. Johnson.

Jefferson County--T. H. Dorsey, J. P. Underwood.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]