Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Minutes and address of the State Convention of the Colored Citizens of Ohio, convened at Columbus, January 10th, 11th, 12th, & 13th, 1849.


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]

Muskingum County

W. Hurst Burnham.

Jackson County

N. Nooks.

Fayette County

W. Mitchell.

Lorain County

John Watson,

Lawrence W. Minor.

Cuyahoga County

John L. Watson.

Richland County

James S. Thompson.

Pickaway County

T. J. Merritt.

Fairfield County

McPherson Turner, Luke Matthews.

Union County

Madison Cunningham.


First Session, Wednesday Morning.

Pursuant to a call of the State Central Committee, for holding a Mass State Convention, the delegates to said Convention met in the "Bethel Church" in the city of Columbus, On Wednesday, Jan. 10th, at 9 o'clock, A.M.

The Convention was called to order by D. Jenkins, of Franklin, and was organized by appointing John T. Ward, of Ross county, Chairman pro tern., an W. Hurst Burnham of Muskingum county, Secretary pro tem.

On motion, a committee of eleven were appointed to nominate permanent officers for the Convention. During their absence the Convention was very agreeably entertained by eloquent and soul-stirring speeches from Messrs. J. M. Langston, Day, Depp, Brown, and Dr. C. H. Langston. The committee returned and reported the names of the following gentlemen as officers of Convention: Dr. Charles H. Langston of Ross, President; John L. Watson of Cuyahoga, Thomas Brown of Lorain, J. S. Thompson of Richland, and N. Nooks of Jackson, Vice Presidents; Lawrence W. Minor of Lorain, Charles M. Wilson of Hamilton, and J. Monroe Cardozo of Franklin, Secretaries. The President elect was then escorted to the chair by the President pro tem., and on taking the chair made an appropriate address which was received with deafening shouts of applause.

On motion, a committee of nine were appointed to prepare the consideration of the Convention. The committee consisted of Messrs.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]