Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Colored Men's Convention of the State of Michigan, Held in the City of Detroit ,Tuesday and Wednesday, Sept. 12th and 13th, '65, with Accompanying Documents. Also, the Constitution of the Equal Rights League of the State of Michigan.


« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



Kalamazoo--Geo. Nichols.

Jackson--Wilberforce Johnson.

Coldwater--F. R. Jenkins.

BattIe Creek--John J. Evans, O. P. Anderson.

Ypsilanti--S. Wells, A. Prichard.

Detroit--G. H. Parker, B. Dolbeare Paul, Willis Washington, J. D. Carter, T. J. Rice, Lewis Pierce, A. Burgess, Chas. Gillam, Thomas Nichols.

"Moral and Intellectual Union."--Wayne Co.--J. W. Henry, J. T. Lee, James Richards.

State at large--O. C. Wood.

Honorary Members

James Fields, M.D., Adrian.

Capt. Buckner, Hillsdale.

James Hill, Hillsdale.

R. L. Cullen, Detroit.

T. J. Martin, Dowagiac.

Isaac Burdine, Niles.

S, Fowler, Eaton Rapids.

Wm. Watts, St. Johns.

On montion of Mr. D. Roberts, of Adrian, the chair appointed the following:

Committee on Rules

H. J. Lewis, of Hudson, T. J. Rice, of Detroit, J. J. Evans, of Battle Creek.

On motion of J. J. Evans, of Battle Creek, the chair appointed the following:

Committee on Permanent Officers

J. D. Carter, of Detroit; D. Roberts, of Adrian; H. J. Lewis, of Hudson; F. R. Jenkins, of Coldwater; S. W. Burton, of Hillsdale; J. W. Brooks, of Ann Arbor; B. Brinton, of Marshall; J. Henry, of Detroit; Geo. Nichols, of Kalamazoo; J. J. Evans, of Battle Creek.

On motion of Mr. J. Henry, of Detroit, the following were appointed a

Finance Committee

T. J. Rice, of Detroit; J. D. Carter, of Detroit; R. Brown, of Lenawee Co.; A. Prichard, of Ypsilanti.

On motion of Mr. Anderson, of Battle Creek, the Convention appointed as

Business Committee

G. W. Lewis, of Adrian, Chairman.

O.P. Anderson, of Battle Creek; J. H. Parker, of Detroit; R. L. Cullen, of Detroit; T. J. Rice, of Detroit; S. W. Burton, of Hillsdale.

On motion of J. D. Carter, of Detroit, Dr. Fields was made an honorary member.

On motion of Mr. Paul, A. Prichard, of Ypsilanti, J. J. Martin, of Dowagiac and J. Burdine, of Niles, were made honorary members of the Convention.

On motion of D. Roberts, of Adrian, G. H. Parker, of Detroit, and O. P. Anderson, of Battle Creek, were appointed a committee to install the permanent officers of the Convention.

Mr. Carter, from the committee on Permanent Organization, reported the following gentlemen as permanent officers of the Convention:

President--Rev. J. W. Brooks, of Ann Arbor.

1st Vice President--H. J. Lewis, Hudson.

2d Vice President--Benjamin Grinton, of Marshall.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]