Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the State Equal Rights' Convention, of the Colored People of Pennsylvania, held in the city of Harrisburg February 8th, 9th, and 10th, 1865 : together with a few of the arguments presented suggesting the necessity for holding the convention, and an address of the Colored State Convention to the people of Pennsylvania.

1865PA 4.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]



Daniel Williams, Equal Rights' League

Moses Brown, " " "

John Thomas, (honorary).


J. J. Wright,

Benjamin Wilson, (honorary).


John Welsh. Equal Rights' League


Samuel Molston. Equal Rights' League


Aaron L. Still.


Solomon Cooper.


J. G. Chaplain.


Merriman Cupit, (honorary).

Mr. J. C. Bustill of Philadelphia, moved that a Committee of twelve be appointed to nominate permanent officers for the Convention.

Moved by Daniel Williams of Hollidaysburg, that the motion be so amended that the Committee shall consist of one delegate from each county represented in the Convention.

The amendment was carried without debate, and the original motion as amended was then put and unanimously carried.

On motion of Mr. Hughes of Harrisburg, that the President appoint the Committee to nominate permanent officers, the President appointed the following:--

Joseph C. Bustill, of Philadelphia, Samuel Molston, of Mifflin county, Lewis Hill, of Lycoming county, John C. Chaplain, of Huntingdon county, Daniel Williams, of Blair county, Aaron L. Still, of Berks county, John E. Price, of Dauphin county. William H. Simpson, of Allegheny county, J. J. Wright, of Luzerne county, John Welsh, of Centre county.

The Committee retired for consultation, and in their absence Mr. Turner of Philadelphia, moved that a Committee of five be appointed to draft Rules for the government of the Body.

The motion was carried, and the Convention appointed the following as the Committee:--

David B. Bowser,

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]