Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Minutes and Proceedings of the Second Annual Convention for the Improvement of the Free People of Color in these United States, held by adjournments in the city of Philadelphia, from the 4th to the 13th of June, inclusive, 1832.

1832PA 2.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Philadelphia, June 4th, 1832.

AGREEABLY to public notice, the Delegates to the Second Annual General Convention, for the improvement of the condition of the free people of color in these United States, met at the Benezett Hall, in Seventh Street, and commenced business at 9 o'clock A. M. — Mr. John Bowers, President of the Conventional Board appointed at the last meeting of the Convention to transact its business during its recess, took the Chair, and Junius C. Morel, acted as Secretary. After a most eloquent and appropriate prayer by the Rev. Charles W. Gardner, the following Delegates presented their credentials, which were read and approved, and they admitted to seats in the Convention, viz:—


Pittsburg.— John B. Vashon.


John Bowers, Benjamin Paschal, William Whipper, F. A. Hinton. J. C. Morel,

Carlisle.— John Peck.

Lewistown, Mifflin county.— Samuel Johnson.


New York City.

William Hamilton, Henry Sipkins, Thomas L. Jennings, Philip A. Bell.

Brooklyn.— James Pennington.



Joseph Burton, William Johnson, Jacob Morgan, Peter Gardiner, Abm. D. Shad,

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]