Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Conn. State Convention of Colored Men, Held at New Haven, June 6th and 7th, 1865.

1865CT State New Haven proceedings-page3.pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Names of Delegates enrolled:—New Haven—R. J. Cowes, W. W. Grimes, F. L. Cardozo, A. L. Black, W. S. Merriman, W. Effort, J. Groves, J. Swears, B. W. Norris, W. Bouchett, S. Mitchell, R. Jackson, L. Lathrop, P. T. Rogers, T. Newton, J. Donegan, J. Turner, H. Berrian. Hartford—Joseph Smith, P. H. Nott, L. G. Seymour, R. B. Mason. Bridgeport—W. J. Fuller. Danbury—A. K. Pine. Norwich—W. H. Burr. New Milford—J. Carr. Middletown—J. F. Loyd. Stonington—A. Ross, A. Morrison. Meriden—G. S. Jeffry, E. C. Buezard. Milford—C. Monroe. Thomaston—W. H. Williams. Honorary Members,—Rev. S. V. Berry, New Haven; Mr. A. C. Luca, Zainesville, Ohio.

Moved by W. S. Fuller, of Bridgeport, that a Committee of five be appointed to nominate permanent officers for the Convention, Mr. Cardozo, of New Haven, moved an amendment, that the nomination and election of permanent officers be in open Convention.

The original motion and amendment were each sustained by their respective proposers. The Convention adopted the amendment of Mr. Cardoz0, and rejected the original motion of Mr. Fuller. The Convention then elected,

For President:

R. J. COWES, of New Haven.


REV. JOSEPH SMITH, Hartford, REV. W. W. GRIMES, New Haven.


REV. W. J. FULLER, Bridgeport, MR. W.H. BURR, Norwich.

The Chairman then took the chair, and addressed the Convention in a brief and appropriate manner,—referring to the importance of the epoch in which we meet, and the favorable circumstances for obtaining our privileges as American citizens.

He then appealed to the members of the Convention, to assist him in preserving order and decorum, and expressed the hope that

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]