Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

Proceedings of the State Convention of Colored Men of Texas, Held at the City of Austin, July 10-12, 1883.

1883TX-State-Austin_Proceedings (5).pdf

« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]


P. A. Alexander, Henry Stewart, W. R. Patterson, J. M. McMeans, W. J. Swanson.

E. H. Anderson moved that the chair appoint a committee on permanent organization. A. F. Jackson moved as a substitute, that the temporary officers be elected permanently by acclamation. A motion to table the substitute was lost; whereupon the substitute was adopted, and the temporary officers were declared elected permanent officers of the Convention.

A. Grant, on taking the chair as President, delivered an address, which was well received.

J. M. Jones and Hy. Wilhite were elected first and second Vice Presidents, respectively. J. N. Gillett was elected Assistant Secretary.

M. Henson offered the following;

Resolved, that no member of this convention be allowed to speak on any subject more than five minutes at one time.

On motion of J. J. Hamilton, it was amended to read thus:

Resolved, That no member be allowed to speak more than ten minutes on the same subject without permission from the house. Adopted.

A resolution by F. A. Denison was adopted, inviting Gov. John Ireland to address the Convention to-morrow at 10 o’clock. The following committee were appointed to wait on and inform the Governor: E. H. Anderson, F. A. Denison, R. Nelson.

The following committees were appointed on the subjects named:

Lands and Homesteads—J. H. Armstrong, J. S. Tibbett, Hy. Dickerson, P. F. Dennis.

Education—J. W. M. Abernathy, R. Nelson, E. H. Anderson.

The Moral Advancement of the Race—J. H. Jones, H. Swan, J. S. Tibbett.

Grievances—Mack Henson, A. R. Norris, J. N. Johnson, J. Q. A. Potts.

Address to the People—E. H. Anderson, R. Nelson, R. J. Moore, Hy. Wilhite, H. Swan, J. H. Jones, J. N. Johnson.

Publishing the Minutes—I. B. Scott, J. N. Gillett.

Agriculture and Wealth—K. F. Jackson, W. R. Lewis, H. G. Madison, T. Hodges.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]