Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Colored State Convention assembled in St. Paul's A. M. E. Church, Lexington, Ky., November 26.

1884KY-State-Lexington_Proceedings (12).pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Resolved, That we indorse the proposed National legislation to aid the common school system of the United States.

Resolved, That the following telegram of the condolence be sent:

To Mrs. Thomas A. Hendricks, Indianapolis, Ind.:

The Convention of Colored men of Kentucky, now assembled, tender their unfeigned sympathies to you in this, your hour of affliction, in the death of your distinguished husband, the Vice-President of the United States.

Messrs. Wm. H. Steward, A. C. Brent and W. M. Jamison were appointed to send the telegram to Mrs. Hendricks.

The following committee was appointed to present the resolutions to the Legislature of Kentucky: Wm. J. Simmons, chair-man; W. H. McRidley, E. W. Glass, J. C. Strange, G. W. Bolling, J. W. Hawkings, Henry Seroggins, A. W. Titus, I. H. Natas, J. F Hummons, W. H. Mason, Wm. H. Steward, W. H. Ward, G. W. Gentry, J. C. Jackson, A. C. Brent, R. Varien, E. Evans, C. H. Parrish and D. Jones.

Resolutions thanking the officers for the fair and impartial discharge of their duties, to the citizens of Lexington for hospitality and entertainment, and to the press for courtesies, were adopted.

After a general interchange of opinions the convention adjourned sine die.


First Day, January 26, 1886.

Pursuant to the call of the committee, through its officers, the following members of the committee met in Frankfort, in the hall of the Young Men's Club, viz:

Fifth District, Wm. J. Simmons, Chairman ; First District, Wm. H. McRidley ; Third District, J. C. Strange ; Seventh District, Henry Scroggins ; Eighth District, A. W. Titus ; Ninth District, I. H. Natas ; Eleventh District, Wm. H. Mason ; State at Large J. C. Jackson, R. Varian, G. W. Gentry, E. Evans, A. C. Brent, C. H. Parrish, Daniel Jones.

The following gentlemen of the Frankfort Committee were also present, and attended all the sessions: Henry Samuels, Wm. H. Mayo, L. T. Clark, Jesse Hocker, W. B. Luckett, J. W. Woolfolk, R. H. C. Mitchell, Jno. Thomas, Sr.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]