Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Home > Conventions > Transcribe Minutes > Transcribe Page

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Create an account | About the Project | Advanced Instructions | Share your story

Proceedings of the Colored State Convention assembled in St. Paul's A. M. E. Church, Lexington, Ky., November 26.

1884KY-State-Lexington_Proceedings (6).pdf

« previous page | next page »

This page has been marked complete.



  • Type what you see in the pdf, even if it's misspelled or incorrect.
  • Leave a blank line before each new paragraph.
  • Type page numbers if they appear.
  • Put unclear words in brackets, with a question mark, like: [[Pittsburg?]]
  • Click "Save transcription" frequently!


  • Include hyphens splitting words at the end of a line. Type the full word without the hyphen. If a hyphen appears at the end of a page, type the full word on the second page.
  • Include indents, tabs, or extra spaces.

Current Saved Transcription [history]


Resolutions adopted at the several county meetings were read and referred to the Committee on Resolutions.

Upon request C. H. Parrish, of Louisville, addressed the convention.

The Committee on Credentials reported representatives from thirty-five counties in attendance.

The Committee on Permanent Organization submitted their report, and after a lengthy discussion the following officers were elected:

Wm. J. Simmons, D. D., Louisville, President.

John Bate, Danville, Vice-President.

J. S. Hathaway, Berea, Secretary.

E. Evans, Bowling Green, Assistant Secretary.

Messrs. H. Scroggins and D. Jones were appointed a committee to escort the officers elect to their respective positions, who returned thanks for the honors conferred.

The convention adjourned until 9 o'clock A. M., Friday.


The convention was called to order with Dr. Wm. J. Simmons in the chair.

Prayer was offered by Rev. D. A. Gaddie.

A committee was appointed to select the members of the Executive Committee.

There were several resolutions, relative to raising moneys to meet the expenses of the Executive Committee, adopted.

J. C. Strange, of Bowling Green, was appointed Sergeant-at-Arms.

The following members of the State Executive Committee were then chosen:

First District—Wm. H. McRidley, Cadiz.

Second District—E. W. Glass, Hopkinsville.

Third District—J. C. Strange, Bowling Green.

Fourth District—G. W. Boling, Elizabethtown.

Fifth District—Wm. J. Simmons, Louisville.

Sixth District—J. W. Hawkins, Newport.

Seventh District—Henry Scroggins, Lexington.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]