Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Exhibit Page
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

Scripto | Transcribe Page

Log in to Scripto | Recent changes | View item | View file

Proceedings of the State Conference of the colored men of Florida, held at Gainesville, February 5, 1884.

1884FL-State-Gainesville_Proceedings (3).pdf

« previous page | next page » |

You don't have permission to transcribe this page.

Current Page Transcription [history]



GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA, February 5, 1884.

Pursuant to the call for a Conference of the colored citizens of Florida, representing the interests of the colored voters of the state, the Conference assembled to-day in Roper's Hall, in this city, at 10 o' clock A. M. Rev. Augustus Waters, chairman of the committee on arrangements, appointed by the citizens of Gainesville, called the Conference to order.

General Josiah T. Walls, of Alachua County, moved that Hon. J. Willis Menard, of Monroe, be temporary chairman.

Agreed to.

Mr. Menard, on talking the chair, delivered a brief, but eloquent address.

Major P. W. Bryant, of Hillsborough County, moved that Messrs. T. V. Gibbs, of Duval, and A. C. Lightbourn, of Gadsden, act as temporary secretaries. Agreed to.

The chair then announced that the next business in order was to call the roll as made up by Hon. M. M. Lewey, secretary of the committee on arrangements.

Mr.Gibbs proceeded to call the roll, and the following counties answered:

Alachua County.—Gen. Josiah T. Walls, Hon M.M. Lewey, Rev. Augustus Waters, L. E. Chestnut, J. N. Parker, M. D., J. N. Clinton, Hon. William Trapp, Rev. R. E. Shivery, Edward Taylor, Joseph Fisher, and seventy-four others.

Marion County—Hon. H. W. Chandler, K. B. Bonner, Rev. J. . McCant, L. B. Mason, Hon. W. A. Wilkerson, J. W. Cummings, J. A. Kennedy, and David Hopkins.

Levy County.—John F. Murrell, Thomas McKnight, Isaac Carrin, James Hall, and Ransom Edwards.

Monroe County—J. Willis Menard, Wm. M. Artrell, Rome Dupont, and R. W. Butler.

Jefferson County.—Hon. R. W. Long, John Hall, Eli Dilworth and G. W. Proe?ter.

Hillsborough County.—Major P. W. Bryant, Rev. A. H. Erwin, and J. W. Patton.

You don't have permission to discuss this page.

Current Page Discussion [history]